With less than one week until (gun) hunting deer begins, Wisconsin becomes the 35th state to do with a minimum age requirement for hunting. Until now, a "mentoring hunt" required children to be 10 years old to participate. And, the law that also stated only one firearm be using between a hunter and the mentored, was also changed.

Channel3000.com reported Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker signed a bill abolishing the minimum age requirement for hunting and allowing multiple guns be shared between hunters and children. The Madison TV station also says there is a split in public opinion.

Opponents had argued that lowering the minimum hunting age was unsafe, while backers say parents should be empowered to decide when their children are ready to hunt.

According to gothunts.com, the age requirement for hunting alone is 16-years-old with proper educational training.

Catch JB Love on ‘Q98.5 Mornings with Lil Zim & JB’ on Q98.5 from 5:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. Follow him on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

More From Rockford's New Country Q98.5