Some Illinois Cities Have Very Odd Halloween Rules
The other day, as I was watching my wife carry in a metric ton or two of Halloween candy from the garage, I happened upon an article that was talking about the hard line being drawn on Halloween trick-or-treaters by the city of Roanoke, Virginia.
I don't know if Roanoke is still doing this, but a couple of years back the city went viral after announcing their trick-or-treating age limits. In Roanoke, kids over the age of 12 who go trick-or-treating are technically guilty of a misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to six months in jail.
So, I went about finding out if any place in Illinois does something similar...and found out that yes, we've spots in Illinois that get weird on Halloween, too.
No Illinois Cities Will Throw You In Jail For Trick-Or-Treating, But They Will Fine You
Let's use Forsyth, Illinois as an example. The town of Forsyth, not far from Decatur, imposes a $750 fine for approaching a house with no porch lights on for free candy, according to IllinoisPolicy.org.
Belleville appears to be home to the strictest such laws in the state. In the Metro East city, it’s illegal to trick-or-treat beyond the eighth grade. Violation of that rule is punishable by a fine of up to $1,000.
One Illinois City Is Even Offering Free Yard Signs To Tell Kids To Get Off The Lawn
That city would be Hinsdale, where residents are being offered free yard signs that offer different messages. One of them welcomes trick-or-treaters, one tells costumed kids to get off their lawn and one asks that they wear a mask. Masks from a costume don’t count.
“If your costume has a mask, it must prevent the spread of aerosols from your mouth and nose to qualify. Social distancing of at least 6 feet is recommended whenever possible. Wait for trick-or-treaters ahead of you to leave the home before proceeding for your treat,” Hinsdale city leaders advised aerosol-emitting youngsters.