Little Big Town are kicking off the summer of 2018 with a bang. The celebrated vocal quartet will release a new single titled "Summer Fever" on June 6, and they will launch it with a big television performance.

Karen Fairchild, Kimberly Schlapman, Phillip Sweet and Jimi Westbrook will open the 2018 CMT Music Awards by performing "Summer Fever" live for the first time on June 6, the same day it is released to radio and digital platforms. The award-winning group are also set to host the awards show in 2018.

Fairchild co-wrote "Summer Fever" with Jesse Frasure, Cary Barlowe and Sam Romans. Frasure and Shane McAnally co-produced the track, which Fairchild sings lead on.

"It’s always amazing when a song seems to just wait for its own perfect timing,” Frasure notes in a press release. “Getting the chance to bring this song to life in the writing room with my co-writers, and through the opportunity to co-produce with my friend Shane McAnally has been a dream come true. I can't wait to hear this song coming out of a rolled down window this summer.”

“I dare you to sit still when this song comes’s impossible,” McAnally adds. “I don’t even dance, but something comes over me when this thing kicks in. I can’t wait for the world to catch Summer Fever."

Little Big Town's most recent album was The Breaker in 2017. It's unclear if "Summer Fever" will be the first single from a new project. LBT will spend part of the summer on the road with Miranda Lambert on their joint Bandwagon Tour. They also recently released a new video for their cover of the Elton John classic, "Rocket Man."

Williams + Hirakawa

Elton John Is a Maren Morris Fan!

Meet ToC RISER Devin Dawson

More From Rockford's New Country Q98.5