Did you know there are specific laws in place for drivers under 18? These are not suggestions or "tips" these are bonified laws.

It has been a long time since I've had to think of laws for teenagers when it comes to driving. My kids are not relatively close to driving nor do I have anyone that age in my world but, from-time-to-time I'll spot a young driver and wonder about the laws set aside for them.

HERE ARE THE ILLINOIS LAWS FOR DRIVERS UNDER 18

Canva
Canva
loading...

Drivers under 18 are responsible for all passengers wearing a seat belt, including the backseat.

Canva
Canva
loading...

No more than one passenger is allowed in the front seat. The maximum number of passengers in the back seat is one person per seat belt.

Canva
Canva
loading...

Drivers under 18, who haven't had their license for a year, are not allowed to have more than passengers under 20-years-old in the vehicle, including children they might be babysitting, siblings or their own children do not count. The law doesn't apply after turning 18.

 

 

Canva
Canva
loading...

Young drivers might as well toss their phone in the center council or glove compartment... All drivers under 19 years old are not allowed to you a cellphone in any capacity, not even "hands-free."

Canva
Canva
loading...

Also, using a phone for GPS purposes is still illegal.

Canva
Canva
loading...

Be careful, there are laws in place to keep young drivers from being behind the wheel late at night. Drivers under 18 cannot drive from 10 pm - 6 am Sunday through Thursday, and 11 pm - 6 pm, Friday and Saturday.

13 Stupid Illinois Laws

10 Roadside Stops in Wisconsin You Must See This Summer