Eight public schools from Wisconsin were among 337 schools recognized America. Each school received the 2014 National Blue Ribbon School Award for excellence and for closing the achievement gaps in education. Here are the schools getting a tip of the cap today in America.

Congratulations to Roosevelt Elementary School in Janesville School District for the honor. The other schools in Wisconsin getting the Blue Ribbon Award are:

Getty Images

• Cedarburg High School, Cedarburg School District;
• Fennimore Elementary School, Fennimore Community School District (Exemplary Gap Closing Schools);
• Lakeshore Elementary School, Fond du Lac School District;
• Ozaukee Middle School in Fredonia, Northern Ozaukee School District (Exemplary Gap Closing Schools);
• Prairie View Elementary School, Mukwonago School District (Exemplary Gap Closing Schools);
• Roosevelt Elementary School, Janesville School District;
• Spring Valley Elementary School, Antigo Unified School District; and
• Westside Elementary School, River Falls School District.According the The Janesville Gazette, of the schools receiving awards across the country, 25 are K-12 schools, 239 are elementary schools, 25 are middle schools, and 48 are high schools.

Representatives from winning schools will be honored at an awards ceremony Nov. 10-11 in Washington, D.C. Each school will receive an engraved plaque and program flag with the official seal, which signifies its Blue Ribbon status and the year of its award.

Congratulations from the Q98.5 Q Crew.