Illinois School Bus Laws Reminder For 2019/2020
School is in full swing which means buses will be out in full force. Do you know all the laws drivers need to know when it comes to approaching school buses?
Violating laws when it comes to school buses is no joke in Illinois. Did you know the fines for illegally passing a school bus with its stop sign out and lights blinking just increased to $300 and at least a 3-month drivers license suspension? A second fine increases to $1,000 and even longer time without a license.
Here are other laws you might need a refresher on, per Illinois State Board of Education.
When a school bus is traveling on a two-lane roadway and is stopped to pick up or drop off pupils, the vehicles in all lanes of traffic must stop. Vehicles should stop at least 20 feet before reaching the school bus to allow pupils to cross the roadway safely.
When a school bus is traveling on a four-lane roadway with at least two lanes of traffic traveling in the opposite direction, only those lanes of traffic traveling in the same direction as the school bus must stop.
One-Way Multiple Lanes Roadway
When a school bus is traveling on a one-way roadway and is stopped to pick up or drop off pupils, all lanes of traffic must stop, regardless of the number of lanes of traffic.
I'd err on the side of caution because if you're caught you won't be bragging to anyone about getting a warning.