There are many people, especially those who are dealing with the aftermath of this month's storms and flooding, who will be glad to say goodbye to July, 2017.

And who could blame them? We've got disaster areas all over this state due to the extensive flooding, with more trouble for those who live along rivers and streams on the way if the rain to our north doesn't slow itself to a trickle.

In case you missed it, Governor Bruce Rauner has announced that the State of Illinois will waive penalties and interest for taxpayers in an additional eight counties who cannot file or pay on time as a result of the July 2017 floods. The waiver applies to affected taxpayers for payments or returns due between July 11, 2017 and December 31, 2017.

From the Governor's office:

“Our communities dealing with the unprecedented flooding in northern Illinois should focus on their loved ones and neighbors, not tax deadlines,” said Governor Rauner.
“Once these impacted families and businesses have had the time to recover, they can gather the necessary paperwork and file their returns and pay taxes.”

The eight declared disaster counties include: Carroll, Henry, Jo Daviess, Lee, Ogle, Rock Island, Stephenson and Whiteside. Previously declared disaster counties included: Cook, Kane, Lake and McHenry.

Here's what you do:

Taxpayers who opt to mail their deferred returns and payments should write Flood –
July 2017 on the outside of the envelope in red ink and on the top of each page of the
tax filing, so the account can be updated and handled appropriately. Filers using MyTax
Illinois or electronic filing methods are instructed to refer to the Illinois Department of
Revenue’s website: Tax.Illinois.Gov. For questions, the Illinois Department of Revenue
has set up a mailbox dedicated to those impacted by the floods at:



More From Rockford's New Country Q98.5