New 2017 Illinois Traffic Laws [UPDATE]
This is an update to a few more traffic laws that you need to be aware of to avoid fines or jail time.
According to Dekalb Police Department,
NEW Fines will double for failing to stop at a railroad crossing - $500 for a first violation, $1,000 for a second.
NEW Allows motorcycles rear lights to be blue.
NEW Allows vehicle owners to select their birthday as the vehicle’s registration expiration date.
NEW Clarifies that a person riding a bicycle has all the rights applicable to a driver of a vehicle, including those regarding a vehicle’s right-of-way.
NEW Requires license plates to be clearly visible.
Here are some of the laws that are new or have been amended for 2017, according to Illinois State Police,
Scott's Law ("Move Over" Law)
In an effort to protect first responders, Scott’s Law, the “Move Over” law, requires that motorists slow down or change lanes when approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with emergency lights activated. Beginning in 2017 this law will also apply to any vehicle on the side of the road with hazard lights activated. If you see flashing lights ahead, please move over or slow down.
When entering a work or school zone, you need to eliminate distractions and make sure you are driving at the posted speed limit. If you decide to speed through a work or school zone after the first of the year, you may end up in jail. Speeding 26 miles per hour or more, but less than 35 miles per hour, is now a Class B misdemeanor, and 35 miles per hour or more in excess of the posted work or school zone speed limit is now a Class A misdemeanor.
Driving Without Insurance
If you have been convicted of driving without insurance and you still choose to drive without insurance, your vehicle could be impounded the next time you’re stopped by the police. The law now requires officers to tow your vehicle if you have been convicted of driving without insurance within the prior 12 months and you are receiving another citation for driving without insurance.