An Auburn High School teacher has been named a finalist for The Illinois State Board of Education "Teacher of the Year" title. Who is this hard working teacher in the spotlight?Congratulations to Lynne Olsen, an instrumental music teacher at Auburn High School, who has been named as a finalist for the Illinois State Board of Education's Teacher of the Year.

According to The Illinois State of Education Office, a selection committee reviewed 231 nominations this year and only 12 finalists for the 2015 award are selected.

Getty Images

Nominations are scored based on personal background information, the nominating recommendation and letters of support from colleagues, parents and students. In addition, nominees must respond to questions focusing on student success, collaboration, continuous learning and leadership. Scores are compiled and averaged to determine one of three levels of recognition: excellence, merit and recognition.

The state education board announced today the 12 finalists for the award, and the winner will be named during the "Those Who Excel" banquet in October.

Congratulations to all of the other state finalists:

Seth Brady, Naperville Community Unit School District 203
Susan Diggle, Germantown Hills School District 69
Lisa Doughan, Community Unit School District 4
Steven Elza, Township High School District 211
Lauren Hoeft, Kildeer Countryside Community Consolidated School District 96
Jamie Jones, Alton Community Unit School District 11
Heather Kraus, Oswego Community Unit School District 308
Mary Lynn Meredith, McLean County Unit 5
Lynne Olson, Rockford Public Schools District 205
Jennifer Smith, Monticello Community Unit School District 25
Emily Weiss, Grayslake Community High School District 127
Mary Wirth, Community Unit School District 140

If you know of Lynne Olsen, congratulate her. She's already a hero and a winner in my mind. Thank you Lynne, for being a teacher in Rockford.