Governor Scott Walker has signed a bill that allows state transportation officials to raise the speed limit to 70 mph on some Wisconsin roads. But, here's the catch before you get a ticket.


Governor Scott Walker signed the measure Wednesday. It passed the Senate and Assembly on voice votes earlier this year. So where can you roll at 70 MPH in Wisconsin? There are designated highways.

The Department of Transportation can raise the speed limit to 70 mph only on four-lane roads that have entrance and exit ramps. You can only travel at 70 mph once the signs are posted which should be completed by the middle of June.

Getty Images

According to 12 WISN TV, Here are the highways that will changes to 70 mph:

I-94 from the Illinois State Line to Milwaukee County Line
I-43 from County T in Ozaukee County to WIS 29 in Brown County
I-43 from I-39 in Rock County to WIS 164 in Waukesha County
I-41 South Washington County Line to WIS 441 in Winnebago County
I-94 from I-39/90 in Dane County to WIS 164 in Waukesha County
I-39/90 from the Illinois State line to US 12 in Dane County
I-39/90/94 from US 151 in Dane County to I-39 split in Columbia County
I-39 from I-90/94 split in Columbia County to WIS 54 in Portage County
I-39 from WIS 66 in Portage County to Bus 51 in Marathon County
I-90/94 from I-39/90/94 in Columbia County to I-90 in Monroe County
I-90 from I-94 in Monroe County to US 53 in La Crosse County
I-94 from I-90 in Monroe County to US 53 in Eau Claire County
I-94 from WIS 312 in Eau Claire County to WIS 35 in St. Croix County
I-41 from WIS 441 in Outagamie County to WIS 172 in Brown County

Getty Images

Buckle up and travel safe y'all.