New Law Will Affect Anyone Who Drives In Wisconsin Beginning Saturday
This law will affect the entire state of Wisconsin. Drivers, if you fail to follow the law, you will be fined $160.00.
Law enforcement authorities are warning motorists who reside in Wisconsin and those who travel to and from Wisconsin that police will begin issuing citations to violators of a new state law that requires drivers to have their headlamps on, during times of limited visibility.
The Oshkosh Police Department issued a reminder on it's Facebook Page to remind motorists that enforcement of the law will take effect on Saturday, October 1st.
According to the Oshgosh Police Department:
The law was created to see and be seen with safety in mind for all motorists on Wisconsin roads and highways. Limited visibility is not being able to see 500 feet or so in front of you. It takes only 8.5 seconds to travel 500 feet at 40mph; and 5 seconds to travel 500 feet at 65mph.
The easiest thing to do is, if you are traveling in inclement weather, turn your headlights on!
The State of Illinois has a similar law on the books for years.
Here are the states that require drivers to have their headlights on when driving in inclement conditions
- New Jersey
- New York
- North Carolina
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- Wisconsin (as of 10/1/16)
Wisconsin authorities want you to stay safe as your travel through America's Dairyland.
BONUS VIDEO: HOW TO PICK THE BEST SWEET CORN WITHOUT PEEKING INSIDE THE HUSK