Illinois Distracted Driving Laws Reminder
Driving through Rockford and hitting every red light during morning rush isn't fun. Toss in drivers that are obviously distracted and it's just plain aggravating. Maybe remembering fine will help.
There is nothing more frustrating than someone blowing a red light to turn left and almost hitting you because their obviously distracted.
Whether your holding a phone, your lipstick, a coffee, some food, or whatever - it's distracted driving. It's illegal. It's dangerous. Plain and simple.
- If you get pulled over for distracted driving it could cost you $250.
- If you cause a minor accident due to distracted driving it could cost you $500.
- If you cause serious injury or death due to distracted driving the penalty starts at $12,500, loss of your license, and possible jail time.
Three Scenarios When 'Hands Free' Is OK
The only time Illinois drivers can use a cell phone that is not hands free is:
To report an emergency situation.
While parked on the shoulder of a roadway.
While stopped due to normal traffic being obstructed and the vehicle is in neutral or park.
Go pick up an easy-to-use bluetooth device if your vehicle doesn't have it built in. Download an app that locks texting while you're driving. Or just simply put your phone in the glove box or somewhere you won't be able to reach.